Cricket Australia

The Australian Cricketers’ Association (ACA) is the collective voice for elite cricketers in Australia. It represents both domestic and international cricketers. The ACA has long been an advocate for better pay and conditions for players. It was founded in February 1997. Its inaugural president was Tim May, who brought together first-class cricketers from all over Australia to form an umbrella association. As president, May advocated for improved remuneration, improved conditions, and improved security for players.

Cricket Australia’s emergence as a global sporting force is attributed to the passionate support of its fans. The team’s spectacular performance at the 1904 World Cup and total dominance of world cricket at the turn of the century are partly credited to the enthusiasm of the country’s cricket fans. The popularity of the team has risen recently with the creation of the Big Bash League (BBL), a global T20 tournament involving teams from major cities throughout Australia. The organization also has a large social media following, with over 1 million Twitter followers and over 7 million Facebook followers.

The Australian cricket team is governed by Cricket Australia, an organisation that was originally formed in 1905 as the Australian Board of Control for International Cricket. It is the governing body for Australian domestic and international cricket and employs around 390 staff members across the country. The governing body of the game is accredited by the International Cricket Council (ICC). Among its other functions, Cricket Australia organizes Test matches, One Day Internationals, home international fixtures, and regional development of the game in the Pacific region.